Author Interview: Crystal Cherie

  1. Name, please!

Crystal Cherie

  1. We’ll skip the “tell us about yourself” because coming up with something on the spot is, truly, the bane of an author’s existence. So, let’s start with something a little easier! Tell me what you’re working on at the moment.

Haha, I appreciate that. At the moment, I am working on drafting book two of my newest series, The Divine Houses. I’m also working to do hefty revisions on a fan-favorite from Wattpad, Lucky and the Killer.

  1. In as much detail as you would like, tell me about your book(s) that are already out/on the way.

I just released House of Pluto (literally this week). It’s brand new, and I’m so excited to see how that goes. It’s the first book in my new six-book series, and I’m honestly rather proud of it. It’s my hope that it will appeal to fans of both Harry Potter and Sailor Moon. There’s a little bit of magic and stars with just a dash or two of evil.

Book two is coming in December of this year. I do also have a stand-alone book, Deleted, that’s available. It was my first novel, so take that with a grain of salt.

  1. As far as the writing process goes—including such things as conception of idea all the way through to money in the bank—what is the least favourite bit? (Everyone has one!)

My least favourite bit is definitely formatting and editing. Formatting feels tedious to me, even when there is a template from a publisher, and line-editing is delicate work.

  1. Conversely, what is the bit of the writing process that gets your writery brain grinning?

Why, the writing, of course! Drafting is my favourite part, hands down. I love the imagination aspect to it, and it’s really neat to watch my characters come to life.

  1. If you could steal any author’s ability to improve your own work, who would you steal from and why? (e.g. Tolkien’s language skills, Douglas Adams’ humour, etc.)

Cassandra Clare’s skill for world building and plot. I loved her Mortal Instrument’s series and have always thought she does a good job in those areas. It also wouldn’t hurt to have Jude Watson’s pacing and character development.

  1. Now for some fun! The main character of the book you’re working on (or have recently finished) has kidnapped you for ruining their life. How will you explain that what you’re doing is for the best?

“Haha, look now, you’ll be stronger for it in the end, and I’ve been through some crap, too. You’ll survive. But yeah, please let me go. We’ve still got work to do.”

  1. You, your main character(s), and the protagonist of the last book you read are playing poker. What are the stakes? Who will win and why?

Lennox will win because he’s cool, calm, and mostly collected, and we’re probably playing for keys from the series. Either way, I’ll lose because I’ve never played poker. ☺

  1. Let’s face it, writing is hard. What do you think are some traps to avoid in your particular area of expertise? (Whether that be your genre, your knowledge of plot, your character building, your world building, etc.)

*Show more than you tell.

*Don’t kill characters for no reason.

*Most people don’t dig love triangles (“MOST” not all, don’t murder me).

*If you’re a pantser, learn to plan even if it’s just a little bit.

  1. Anything else you’d like to add? Plots to take over the world, for example. Upcoming release dates, links and things, maybe even your favourite chocolate cake recipe.

Keep reading, keep writing, and it’ll all work out in the end. Much love to everyone and thanks for having me! ♥

You can find House of Pluto here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B09FKQ3N54?pf_rd_r=C9CJWK7E0NRWBBP0EE9R&pf_rd_p=8fe9b1d0-f378-4356-8bb8-cada7525eadd&pd_rd_r=7d759ddd-4444-4ed1-ac1b-4f162e704cb1&pd_rd_w=PaxWc&pd_rd_wg=G9kgS&ref_=pd_gw_unk

House of Neptune (Book 2) should drop December 2021, so keep an eye out for that!